This article covers:


What is User Sync?

User Sync is a Mio feature that allows users to chat cross-platform in direct messages. Please note that this is different from Channel Sync, which allows users to send cross-platform messages in channels or spaces.

Preparing for User Sync

Primary and Secondary Platforms

It is important to determine your user's Primary Platform prior to beginning User Sync.

A Primary Platform is the platform that your end user prefers to communicate on. If you select Slack, the assumption is that you will use Slack primarily to send messages.

A Secondary Platform is the platform to which the messages will be sent. This is the platform that is used with less frequency, if at all. If you choose Teams, the assumption is that you rarely use your Teams account to send messages, but need to message users who are Teams primaries.

Choosing a primary platform is crucial, as this tells Mio where to watch for outgoing messages. Though users will still be able to access your secondary platform for messaging, secondary platform messages will not show up on that same user's primary platform.

For example, if a user choses Webex as primary and Slack as secondary, they will still be able to log into Slack to send messages. But, these messages will not show up in the user's Webex account.


If you have not done so already, refer back to the onboarding guides for your specific platform to ensure your settings are configured correctly and teams are imported before continuing.

Once you have connected your platforms in the Mio Hub, you are now able to start syncing users for direct messaging.


Syncing users for direct messaging

Step 1

Sign in to the Mio Hub if you haven't already at https://m.io.

Click on User Sync in the left sidebar.

Step 2

If you see a drop-down list under the column titled Primary Platform, Mio has detected that the user exists on multiple platforms.

You will need to select the correct primary platform for that user.

If you do not see a drop-down list for a user's primary platform, that means Mio has detected that this user exists on only one platform and has default selected the platform for you.

  • Reminder: a Primary Platform is each user’s most frequently and comfortably used messaging platform, or the platform they will be sending messages from on a daily basis.

Step 3

Determine each user’s Secondary Platform. You will select this in the column labeled Secondary Platform Sync.

  • Reminder: a Secondary Platform This is the platform that each user uses with less frequency or perhaps not at all. Eg. If a user’s primary platform is Slack, their secondary platform may be Microsoft Teams, Webex, Zoom Team Chat, or a combination of these.

  • TIP #1: If your end user's Secondary Platform is Slack, encourage them to close the Slack app while chatting to minimize notifications.

  • TIP #2: If your end user's secondary platform is Microsoft Teams and they maintain full Teams accounts, instruct them to turn off notifications to declutter their workplace.

Click the [Platform] 🔄 button under the second column to begin syncing a user on their Secondary Platform.

Depending on whether the user has an account on their Secondary Platform, one of several messages may appear. Confirm your selection in the pop-up that appears.

You may skip ahead to the next step, or read on to understand more about the specifics of each option. For more information on each type of sync, please refer to the linked articles.

Secondary Platform

User has an existing account on their Secondary Platform

User does not have an existing account on their Secondary Platform

Webex

Mio will ask you to prompt the user in their Primary Platform to sync their Webex account.

Mio will ask for permission to create a bot to represent your user on Webex.

Slack

Authorize Mio to provision a bot to represent the user on Slack. Answer the questions about Multi-Factor Authentication.

Authorize Mio to provision a bot to represent the user on Slack. Answer the questions about Multi-Factor Authentication.

Microsoft Teams

Mio will ask you to prompt the user in their Primary Platform to sync their existing Microsoft Teams account.

Mio will ask for permission to create a guest account to represent the user on Microsoft Teams.

Zoom Team Chat

Mio will ask you to prompt the user in their Primary Platform to sync their Zoom Team Chat account.

Currently unsupported. Users will be limited to Channel messaging.

Step 4

If the user has an existing account on their Secondary Platform, they should sign in to their Primary Platform and find the message from the Mio app and finish the syncing process.

If the user does not have an existing account on their Secondary Platform, you are finished once the 🔄 sync icon turns into a ✔️ check mark.

Congratulations! You have successfully synced your users. They will now be able to send cross-platform direct messages to anyone in your organization that is also synced.


User Sync statuses

After pressing the Sync icon, you may notice that the icon next to each platform name changes. You can find out what these symbols mean by hovering over the information icon next to the Secondary Platform Sync column title.

  • A green check mark indicates a successful sync. This user can now successfully send cross-platform direct messages.

  • An orange clock indicates that the sync is pending. The user has been prompted to sync their secondary platform; once they allow Mio access to perform the sync, this symbol will become a green check mark.

  • A red triangle indicates that the sync has failed. Please re-attempt User Sync.

  • A circular arrow indicates that the sync has not been created. Click this icon to sync this user.


Resetting or removing a user's sync

Maybe an employee has left your organization, or their communication habits have changed. Follow these steps to break all syncs and reset the user’s Primary and Secondary Platforms.

Step 1

Find the user you want to reset and click the three-dot icon.

Step 2

Select Reset user or Remove user. Agree to the prompt that appears in order to confirm your decision.

  • Reser user will remove this user's app from the Mio database and un-sync it so that they're no longer available for cross-platform messaging. You are free to re-select platforms and create a new sync if desired.

  • Remove user will remove the user from the Mio database entirely. You will no longer see them in User Sync.

Did this answer your question?