What Is Channel Sync?

Channel Sync is a Mio feature that allows users to chat cross-platform in channels. Please note that this is different from User Sync, which allows users to chat cross-platform in direct messages.


Table of Contents

  1. Preparing for Chanel Sync

    1. Configure settings for Mio

    2. Import two platforms in Connect Platforms

  2. Importing teams and channels

  3. Syncing channels

  4. Editing or removing a channel sync

Preparing for Channel Sync

Before you begin, it is helpful to have a broad overview of the features of the Mio hub. Our help center and the articles linked throughout this document are invaluable resources to further clarify this process.

Configure settings for Mio

If you have not done so already, refer back to the onboarding guides for your specific platforms to ensure your settings are configured correctly and platforms are connected before continuing.

Import two platforms in the Mio Hub

Once you have connected at least two platforms in the Mio Hub, you are able to start syncing channels.


Importing teams and channels

Step 1

Log in to the Mio Hub at https://m.io with your admin account.

Click on Channel Sync in the left sidebar.

Step 2

You must first import your teams and channels before syncing channels.

If you have correctly connected your platforms in a previous step, your platforms should already show on this page.

  • For Microsoft Teams or Webex, select the button to pick the teams that you'd like to import on the next page.

  • For Slack, Mio imports your entire workspace's channels all at once (Mio will not import private channels unless the Mio bot has been added as a member of that private channel).

Step 4

Select your channels by clicking their corresponding checkbox. If you would like to import all channels to Mio, select the first checkbox.

Turn the Mirror import data for User Sync toggle to ON if you'd like to skip this step this same step while setting up User Sync.

Click Import teams and channels in the bottom right corner.

Step 5

Mio is now importing the channels and users of the teams that you selected.

Repeat Steps 2 through 4 for a second platform. You should see a CONNECTED label next to at least two platforms once this is complete.

Syncing Channels

Step 1

At the top of the Channel Sync page, click the Sync channels tab.

Step 2

Select the teams or workspaces that house the channels you want to sync.

Click Continue.

Step 3

Now you'll see a list of all the channels underneath the teams or workspaces you selected in the previous step.

When you hover over a channel name, you will see two options.

  1. The first is Add, signified by an arrow pointing to the ➡️right or ⬅️left. Choose Add if you want to create a new channel to reflect an existing one.

    1. For example, your marketing team primarily uses Slack, but is no equivalent channel on Teams. Clicking Add will create a new channel on the other platform.

  2. The second is Sync, signified by a 🔁circular arrow. Choose Sync if there are equivalent channels on both platforms that should be connected.

    1. For example, your sales team is split between Slack and Teams. There is a Sales channel on both platforms, and now you would like to connect the two for unified communication. Find the Sales channel in the left hand column and click Connect. Do the same with the Sales channel in the right hand column.

Once you are satisfied with the channel pairings, click Sync channels.


Editing or removing a sync

Maybe the goals of a project have changed or different channels are now being used. Editing a Channel Sync is simple, and allows you to customize group communication in a way that best benefits your organization.

Step 1

Log in to the Mio Hub at https://m.io with your admin account.

Click on Channel Sync in the left sidebar.

Step 2

Click on the Sync channels tab.

Find the sync between the two teams or workspaces that you'd like to edit and click the ✏️ pencil icon.

Step 3

Expand the list under Existing channel syncs (X).

Hover your mouse over any two synced channels and click Remove. Click Confirm to finalize your choice.

Did this answer your question?