What Are Guest Users?

Guest users are provisioned accounts created by Mio to enable cross-platform messaging to Microsoft Teams for users who do not have a Teams account. They are a feature of Guest Account Sync, where users message between platforms without having active accounts on both platforms.

Guest users will appear in the Microsoft Azure portal, similar to regular users.

Why Should I Delete Guest Users?

If an employee has left the company, permanently deleting guest users can be a useful way to maintain a tidy workspace.

Table of Contents

  1. Deleting the guest user account

  2. Permanently deleting the guest user account

  3. Recovering deleted guest user accounts


Part 1: Deleting the guest user account

NOTE: You must have a Global administrator or User administrator role assignment to delete users in your organization. Global admins can delete any users including other admins. User administrators can delete any non-admin users, Helpdesk administrators and other User administrators. For more information, see Administrator role permissions in Azure AD.

Step 1

Sign in to the Azure portal using a User administrator account for the organization.

Search for or select Users.

Step 2

Select Deleted Users.

Step 3

Search for and select the user you want to delete from your Azure AD tenant. For example, Mary Parker.

Step 4

Select Delete user.

Users - All users page with Delete user highlighted

The user is deleted and no longer appears on the Users - All users page. The user can be seen on the Deleted users page for the next 30 days and can be restored during that time. Keep reading to learn how to permanently delete the guest user account.


Part 2: Permanently deleting guest users

After initially deleting a user, they will become permanently deleted after 30 days. However, you can permanently delete them before the 30-day period by following the steps below. Permanently deleted guest users cannot be recovered under any circumstances.

You will need one of the following accounts in order to permanently delete users:

  • Global administrator

  • Partner Tier1 Support

  • Partner Tier2 Support

  • User administrator

Step 1

Log in to https://portal.azure.com/ with your administrator account.

Search for or select Users.

Step 2

Select Deleted Users.

Search for and select one of the available users. For example, Rae Huff.

Step 3

Select Delete permanently.

  • Note: Permanently deleted guest accounts are not recoverable by Microsoft or Mio support.

Users - Deleted users page, with Delete user option highlighted

Part 3: Recovering deleted guest users

You can restore a user within 30 days of deletion. After 30 days, the user will be permanently deleted. When a user is restored, their license will be restored as well. If there are no available licenses left, your organization may face license compliance issues.

Step 1

Log in to https://portal.azure.com/ with your administrator account.

Search for or select Users.

Step 2

Select Deleted Users.

Step 3

Select the user that you would like to restore.

Step 4

Select Restore user.

Adapted from https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/active-directory/fundamentals/active-directory-users-restore#permanently-delete-a-user.

Did this answer your question?