People Sync
allows admins to prompt employees to set their preferred primary chat platform so that messages from secondary platforms can be routed and posted natively.

At a glance, you can make a quick assessment of each person’s sync status: off, off, or pending.

Sync on = this person has already synced and can participate in DMs across platforms.

Sync off = this person has not yet synced and cannot receive DMs from users on other platforms.

Sync pending =  this person has been prompted but has not yet completed steps to sync. They cannot receive DMs from users on other platforms.



To enable users to sync, admins can take action by prompting users. You can prompt one person at a time, in bulk, or turn on auto-prompt.

Here's what a prompt message looks like when sent:

In Slack, the prompt message is sent to the person via your instance of the Mio app. People should look for their prompt in the "Apps" section of their Slack Sidebar.

In Microsoft and Webex Teams, people should look for their prompt message in their direct chat area. The prompt will be sent via your service user account.


The "Sync now" Link in the prompt message takes employees through a personal authorization flow to log into their chat accounts and set their primary team. Their primary team is where all messages and notifications will be sent to. As an admin, you can see which team has been selected as primary within People Sync under "Primary Team."

If you prefer to not prompt individuals one-by-one, the auto-prompt toggle at the top of your People list is available as a “set-and-forget” offering, which keeps new (or forgetful!) employees informed about how to activate syncing. When auto-prompt is on, people with "red" status (ie- sync off) will be prompted as they send messages to people who have already synced their accounts.

Did this answer your question?